Aam Aadmi Party Will Sweep Delhi Polls: Exit Polls

By News Desk

New Delhi, Feb 7: All the exit polls Saturday predicted a majority for the Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) in the Delhi Assembly elections.

One of the polls gave the resurgent party as high as 53 seats in the 70-member House.

Arvind Kejriwal questions Modi

The polls predicted that the BJP will emerge as the number two party while Congress was written off way behind with none of them giving it more than five seats.

The exit polls, by and large, were taken up to 3 PM while the polling ended at 6 PM.

AAP had got 28 seats in the 2013 polls and had to tie up with Congress’ 8 to form a short-lived government of 49 days. The BJP had then emerged the single largest with 32 seats.

The ABP News-Nielsen survey gave the Aam Aadmi Party of former chief minister Arvind Kejriwal 39 seats and the Bharatiya Janata Party 28 seats.

India Today-Cicero exit poll on Headlines Today channel has projected that AAP will get between 35 and 43 and for BJP 23 and 29. Congress has been projected to get up to 5 seats.

Zee TV-C Voter poll projected 31 to 39 seats for AAP and 27 to 35 seats for BJP. Congress gets 2 to 4 in the poll.

The highest number of 53 seats for AAP has been predicted by India News-Axis poll, which gave BJP 17 and Congress up to two.

The India TV’s exit poll put AAP in the top with 31 to 39 seats. BJP 27 to 35 and Congress 2 to 4.

The Times Now-C-Voter survey said the AAP was poised to win 31-39 seats and the BJP 27-35.

The NDTV survey said the AAP could win 38 seats and the BJP 29.

All exit polls put the Congress at a distant third, giving the party zero to a maximum of four seats.

Today’s Chanakya exit poll did not give the party break up but said in terms of who would be the best chief minister, Kejriwal scored a high mark of 53 percent.

The BJP’s chief ministerial candidate Kiran Bedi came a poor second with 36 percent rooting for her. Ajay Maken of the Congress scored six percent support.

The AAP and the BJP were widely seen as the principal contenders for power in Delhi. (With Agency Inputs)



To Top