Doha, Nov 17: A fresh controversy erupted during the Asia Cup Rising Stars 2025 clash between India A and Pakistan A after a bizarre umpiring call left players, commentators and fans stunned. What looked like a clear catch by an India A fielder was first declared not out, but instead of signalling a six — as many believed the ball had clearly crossed the boundary — the umpires ruled the delivery a dot ball.
The incident occurred during Pakistan A’s chase of 137, a match they eventually won by eight wickets with 40 balls to spare. However, the moment sparked animated reactions, with several players appearing visibly confused as the third umpire’s verdict flashed on the screen.
What Happened?
The Indian fielder completed what looked like a clean catch near the deep boundary. Pakistan A’s batter stood his ground, suggesting the ball may have touched the advertising cushions or the boundary rope. The on-field umpires sent it upstairs.
Replays appeared to show the fielder landing close to the rope, creating a debate over whether the foot had made contact with the boundary. Despite the ball clearly going aerial toward the ropes:
- The catch was ruled not out.
- No boundary was awarded.
- A dot ball was added to the scorecard.
Frustration Mounts
Commentators described the sequence as “highly unusual and inconsistent with standard protocols.” On social media, fans from both India and Pakistan expressed disbelief, with many calling for greater clarity in third-umpire communication.
Cricket analysts also chimed in, arguing that the situation exposed loopholes in the decision-making process.
“This isn’t about which team benefits; it’s about transparency. If it’s not a catch and not a six, then what exactly happened?” one former international player posted.
Impact on the Match
While the decision did not significantly alter the match’s outcome — Pakistan A dominated the chase — the controversy overshadowed portions of the game and revived the ongoing debate about umpiring standards in emerging multi-nation tournaments.
India A’s camp refrained from issuing an official statement but players were seen in animated conversation with officials after the innings break.
As the Asia Cup Rising Stars continues, the incident is likely to be reviewed by match referees, especially with knockout stages approaching.